Friday, March 30, 2007

Artist Description for Bon Jovi

Bon Jovi is a Rock band from New Jersey. Following the release of their first single, Runaway, in 1983 and their self titled debut album in 1984, they quickly earned the attention and respect of music lovers across the world with their catchy melodies, impressive musical scores and unbelievable live performances.

They have since sold more than 100 million albums worldwide, played live to hundreds of thousands of fans over 8 world tours and across 2 decades, won an impressive collection of awards and produced 9 studio albums, 4 compilation/live albums and various solo albums and DVDs.

Bon Jovi has sometimes been classified as Hair Metal - sometimes even regarded as the form's prime shapers - but have proved much more durable than most groups so labelled. It has been a band which inspired many of today's bands, spending years perfecting a style of timeless rock and also inspiring and initiated the popular "Unplugged" series of MTV programs.

Bon Jovi comprises the following members:

John Francis Bongiovi - Lead vocals, backing vocals, guitar
Richard Stephen Sambora - Lead guitar, backing vocals
Hector Tico Torres - Drums
David Bryan Rashbaum - Keyboards , backing vocals
Hugh McDonald - bass guitar (although not classed as an 'official' member, Hugh has played bass on all Bon Jovi's later albums starting with "These Days". The band members say they agreed never to officially replace Alec.)

Alec John Such - former bass guitar

In 2006, they became the first rock band to have a #1 country song with "Who Says You Can't Go Home".

Bon Jovi and Sambora continued to write new material, in country-style, for another album following the world wide success of Have a Nice Day. The new album has the title Lost Highway and the release-date is set worldwide on June 19th 2007. The first single from the album is "(You Want To) Make A Memory".

No comments: